So the McCain wants to play the name game. Yes, let’s. Sarah Palin is much more intimately connected to the Alaska Independence party than Obama ever was to the weather underground. This fringe party is centered around an effort to have Alaska succeed from the US. The party’s founder Joe Vogler holds some pretty extremist views as evidenced when he said, “I’m an Alaskan not an American. I’ve got no use for America or her damned institutions,” and “The fires of hell are frozen glaciers compared to my hatred for the American government, and I won’t be buried under their damn flag.” Though she is not a member of the party, her husband Todd is. She has attended party meetings and welcomed members to the 2008 convention where she told them that “I share your party’s vision” and to “keep up the good work.”

The former head of the party, Mark Chryson, considers her to be a close friend and had direct access to Palin when she was mayor and even governor with the ability to arrive unanounced at her office and recieve an audience. The list goes on.

If I were a part of the McCain campaign I’d be careful how they use Obama’s tenuous relation with Ayers.

