As I rode in to work for a meeting with big boss man at the completely unholy hour of 7 AM, it dawned on me that these are the only people awake at this time. The overachievers were out running, walking their dogs, riding to work and all the while looking downright chipper. I, on the other hand, had just finished write a dissertation prospectus not 4 fours before and was feeling zombie-like. In between freshly shaven professionals were bums awakening from the sleep of the dead and looking like it. In the park near my house, they crawl out of every imaginable nook and cranny when the sun starts to hit the horizon. Most of the time their pants are around their ankles and they are shirtless, regardless of how cold it is.

I’m trying to figure out just which side of the line I fall on but for the life of me I just can’t. I guess the reason for me being up so early puts me on the overachieving team, but man, if I didn’t feel like I had just crawled out from under a bush half clothed and semi-uncounscious.

In other news, our union and the university are currently in contract negotiations. The union asked for elimination of student fees for graduate students. We are, after all, the only employee group at the university that has to pay any fees, and we do 30% of the work there. Cheaply. The university’s counter offer was to actually RAISE fees. It’s going to be a long bargaining process. And it looks like we’re going to come out hosed in the end, particularly grad students with families, and even more specifically those with young children.

