So last week Big Boss Man asked me, quite rhetorically, what I’d like to do first, now that we have our theoretical details hammered out, in terms of “experiments.” I said that vibrational relaxation would be a good starting point because if our theory can’t handle that, then what’s the point. To which he said something along the lines of, “Interesting. Why don’t we try this other thing though.” Fine. I get started deriving the proper expressions for the action of laser pulses within our framework. This week BBM says, “Instead of this other thing, why don’t we look at vibrational relaxation first.” Hmmm. Granted he had several reasons for wanting to do so that I had not thought of, at least not consciously, but darnit that’s what I wanted to do in the first place. I was right and I knew it. I just didn’t know why to the full extent. But isn’t that how science advances? Through creativity and intuition (ie subconscious decisions), coupled with reason and logic?
